Episode 3: Welcome Back (or not) to the Runway

Challenge: The designers work in teams of two to design an Emmy’s dress for a former Project Runway contestant*.

(*After this episode aired I was really concerned that the entire season was going to be one big incestuous Project Runway lovefest where every challenge had to revolve somehow around the ‘history’ of PR and its ‘legacy.’ Thank goodness it was not the case. As a viewer I am not interested in them just rehashing old territory over and over again.)

The teams and their clients:

  • Christopher & Andrea designing for Anya
  • Buffi & Elena designing for Laura
  • Sonjia & Nathan designing for Valerie
  • Ven & Fabio designing for Kenley
  • Gunnar & Kooan designing for Irena
  • Dmitry & Melissa designing for April
  • Raoul and Alicia designing for Mila

Now I’ve said this before… but if I was going to go on a reality TV show, I would literally do everything in my power to learn everything I could about it – watch all the previous seasons, read about the designers, and even check out the alums blogs (if they have them) to see what their experience was and what they’ve done after the show. So I am always surprised when the designers complain about having to design certain types of garments, work in teams, and work with clients, as if they don’t know anything about the show. “I hate evening wear” and “I don’t do gowns” are just, in my opinion, RIDICULOUS statements to make if you are a contestant on Project Runway. If you’ve watched even ONE season you know there is always a red carpet challenge and often there is more than one. Some designers can get through the entire competition making nothing but dresses! If you can’t sew a dress then you probably shouldn’t be on the show.

Anyways, as with every single episode of Project Runway in which there are teams, there is drama. At first, everyone is ok, tiptoeing around and being respectful but as soon as the time starts to crunch or there is a disagreement between the designers or a designer starts carrying the team.. that’s when the swearing, tears and arguments start. I really respected Christopher’s attitude going into the challenge about being paired with Andrea. I mean, her designs are definitely a bit odd – and not really the same aesthetic as his, so I could see there being some potential tensions – but he looked at it like,  “I can learn so much from this woman – she’s being working in this industry forever, she’s a teacher – what a great opportunity.” Unfortunately she failed to live up to that potential. Even though I know the events were edited, I’m still shocked at how things developed. After incorrectly cutting the skirt, re-sewing it, and all the while being very la-dee-da about the time limits and the amount of work left to do, I would be pretty peeved at my team-mate as well. And then when she said she’d almost be relieved to go home and then took it back and said she didn’t say that on the runway – I could feel Christopher’s frustration through the screen. Whenever someone says they didn’t say or do something they did do, its stressful and to be put on the spot defending yourself and it basically being your word against theirs – I felt for him.

Christopher and Andrea defend their design.

RUNWAY

Guest Judge : Krysten Ritter (who has never been to the Emmys – wtf!)

  • Laura – a bit bedroom nightgown-y
  • Anya – bad slit, awkward construction, makes her look bigger
  • Kenley – cute…love the texture on the top, good proportions, is it evening though?
  • April – waistline is a bit weird, back is nice, cool fabric
  • Mila – kind of a nothing design
  • Irena – dramatic look, but the details were shoddy
  • Valerie – fun and flirty, looks very professional and red carpet, but seen it before.

WINNER Ven

OUT Raoul

And in the middle of the night.. Andrea disappeared!

