Aloha Fashionistas!

I apologize for the hiatus in posts. I was on vacation in Hawaii. Once you’re done being jealous I have a whole slew of posts coming your way in the next few days.. all of which I started working on before I left so excuse the tardiness of my take on the Fall 2011 Runways.

Sometimes there are those fashion shows that are just… well, BIZARRE. But one of the amazing things about fashion is that even in an entire show of such pieces, there will probably be at least one gem. It really highlights the ART of the process – artists strive to find the right way to express their ideas, and in the process there is much trial and error and much failure. Here are a few of my favorite pieces from Fall 2011 collections that were otherwise really OUT THERE.

These are (to my eye) the gems. The clothes that walk that very fine line between being artistic and wearable and somehow manage to be both at the same time. Although not all of these outfits are necessarily things I would wear, they are all things that I think fall into both those categories.. artistic because they are somehow visually, texturally or formally unusual and wearable because despite (or maybe because of that) they still look absolutely fabulous on a human being moving through space. Feel free to debate with me on the ones I’ve chosen.. I’d love to hear your take.

Anna Sui, Missoni, Missioni

Alexander McQueen

Balenciaga

These three from Balenciaga are probably the best example of that process I’m talking about. Honestly, looking through the whole show.. a large portion of the looks were downright unwearable and dare I say… fugly! But these stood out to me as the ‘ones that got it just right.’ This is the perfect example of how a designer can have a really interesting idea but translating it into wearable fashion is the challenge.

What do you think?

