L-R, Top-Bottom: Balenciaga, D&G, Stella McCartney, Prada, Stella McCartney, Miu Miu, Miu, Miu, Viktor&Rolf, Hermes

Now here’s a trend I just don’t get, despite the fact that its all over the Fall 2011 Runways and being attempted by many different designers. I just can’t fathom most women wanting to look like they are wearing their grandfather’s coat which is 5 sizes too big. The proportions seem really unflattering (making even tall skinny models look boxy – I wonder what that would do for us real-sized women!) That said I think when its done with a more cinched waist it is an interesting way to emphasize a very unusual silhouette. Certainly not for everyone… I wonder if we’ll actually see this pop up on any celebrities?

Update!

This trend also popped up at Louis Vuitton Fall 2011.

Louis Vuitton

